Football Kenyanick-4a  Federation president Nick Mwendwa.
Football Kenya Federation promoted National Super League sides KCB and Vihiga  United to the Kenyan Premier League. The inclusion of the two increased the total number of teams in the KPL fixtures to 18 after Muhoroni youth and Sofapaka failed to comply with the CAF Club licensing requirements. The two clubs together with Thika united were relegated when the deadline for complying with the law passed, they however went ahead to appeal against the federation’s decision.
Their appeal was tabled to the FKF’s Independent Disciplinary Committee who ruled that they be given a second chance to submit their Club Licensing documents, and after scrutinizing the papers, only Thika United’s appeal was successful.
The president of FKF Nick Mwendwa confirmed the Independent Club Licensing Committee’s report yesterday in press conference held at the federation’s offices.
KCB and Vihiga United finished 5th and 6th respectively in the National Super League last season and they now join Nzoia  sugar, kariobangi Sharks, Zoo Kericho and Nakumatt KPL.